Anything to say?

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I’ve been trying to find something interesting for you all. The advice when blogging is to not just blog for the sake of it but only when you have something to say – so I’ll shut up now … Umm, has anything turned up yet? Ahhh – what’s that on the horizon?

What is that strange animal – an open, open university? I like the idea of helping people to get on the higher education ladder and I applaud the work of the Open University and the provision of Open Educational Resources. I just don’t see how a completely free university can manage to keep going – I know we probably need one but I still haven’t read anything that demonstrates that it is sustainable. What do you all think about open, open universities?

I couldn’t resist including this book in today’s blog. It is so cute as well as clever. What we want are more learning opportunities like this but at a HE level. It would be great for history, archeology, health and drama – just loads of stuff. Do you have any good suggestions ?

Has anyone taken a moment to look at the T-SPARC project (Technology-Supported Processes for Agile and Responsive Curricula), you can find it on the JISC Design Studio site – lots and lots of ideas we can try out from here. More thought-provoking ideas and discussion can be found from a link to a recording of the very interesting Webinar on Curriculum Design: Changing the paradigm which can be found in the top cell of the table on the web page. It takes an age to load so be patient – go and make a coffee whilst it’s loading then sit down, have lunch and listen to the webinar.

I do always have lots to talk about but sometimes I think it would be a bit boring for a lot of you. The more technology (though not difficult) focused stuff, and sometimes more serious stuff, I’m at present putting on the Calling all Lecturers Scoop.it site. Do go have a look if you are into that sort of thing too.

Wow, just look at how much is out there when you really start looking :)

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

