Whoops! No title

One of me in SL

This is “me”

I’ve found a lot of interesting things out on the metasphere today – I’ll just pass on a few of them here.

For all the new people who joined us on Monday I thought I’d provide a link to something helpful – well I think it’s helpful. This comes from the site of the Information Commissioners Office (huh bet you didn’t know we had one of those did you). The site has some interesting stuff on it so bookmark/favourite it when you get there. This little nugget is about personal safety online, not too long, not preachy and gives basic, sensible advice.

I like this piece of news from ISPR, “uGenius replaces bank tellers with ‘PAT’ (personal assisted teller) technology” but just how long will it be until we don’t have bank tellers at our local bank at all? Most of my banking is done online, in fact I can’t remember the last time I used a bank teller. How about you?

I’d really like to recommend Doug Belshaw’s blog. Doug is a very sensible person when it comes to digital technologies, he’s not over the top but he doesn’t put them down when it’s not necessary. Go and have a look I’m sure you’ll like some of the stuff he talks about.

I just could not resist giving you a link to this video. What a great way of meeting people – someone should really start it off here. It is obviously what QR codes were made for :)

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

