One of me in SL

I’ve just written a piece on my other blog Digital Literacy: your future world about a post on the “Twitter Revolution”. And it got me thinking about how we use social media here in UW. Do we make the best use of it? I’d like to see the whole University using social media more. ILS use Facebook very successfully but where else do we really see this sort of activity in UW? Not many places as far as I can tell at the moment. The Annual Survey is indicating that as a whole the University does not use social media very much at all. These media, Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, Academia.edu, Second Life, etc, can improve communication, save time, and ensure the University’s resources and accommodation are used efficiently and effectively. Social media like these don’t necessarily need to cost us anything and we have no maintenance responsibilities for them.

I know there are some people using these technologies in their work. Why not share what you do, inspire others and encourage more people to use social media.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

