Constructing identity

One of me in SL

This is "me"

As I teach some University students about the creation of online identities I was really interested in this blog article by Diana Graber on the Media Psychology Impact blog. Although the article is about the under 13 year-olds I think the arguments apply to people older than that too. In the article Diana discusses the pros and cons of the under-13s being given access to Facebook – at present they do not have access. Diana sees this question as especially important in relation to the development of each childs’ personal identity. Erikson and Freud are mentioned in the article but they have slightly different beliefs about when a person’s identity is formed.

Although Erik Erikson did see the preadolescent period of childhood as important he also recognised that our identity is created throughout the whole of our lives. Erving Goffman’s sociological view of identity (The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life) and its creation also indicates that identity is not static, it is constantly in a dynamic state.

I’m going to chat a bit more about this on my other blog but I’d really love to know what everyone else thinks about this – especially if you are a psychology student or lecturer.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

