Researchers and Digital Literacy

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I mentioned the live Guardian discussion in the last post. I’ve been having a look round this morning at some of the comments as I didn’t have much time the other day. I found that even big places like Imperial College London have problems with embedding Digital Literacy so that makes me feel a little better but doesn’t solve my problems. Found some interesting stuff though as I trolled through some of the links from the discussion.

There is the “Blogs, Twitter, wikis and other web-based tools – Collaborating and building your online presence” from Imperial College London. Obviously you can’t join in the exercises but you could try them out for yourself and the information provided on the blog is very useful for both Researchers and students doing their Masters or even those doing their first degree.

There were also a couple of apps that I found out about – you might like to try them, if you do give me some feedback on how useful they were to you. I’m going to try out Colwiz myself so it would be good to find out how others get on with it. Colwiz is somewhere to manage all your research activities from, your groups to your publications, your diary etc. Another app is Mendeley which is a reference manager and academic social network it also has a Twitter following that helps broaden the support network.

I’ll probably come back to this tomorrow – so keep you’re eyes peeled 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

