Hooked on technology

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I admit it, I’m not ashamed to stand up and say I like technology. So I couldn’t resist bringing this articleto your attention from the Times Higher Education. My long-term friends know

Clockwork Robot

My Robot

I have wanted an Asimo for years – one of my friends kindly gave me this little chap (sorry about the poor quality of the picture). Do read the article, it’s by Dr Kathleen Richardson from UCL and touches on many issues related to Digital Literacy. I’ll talk more about this on my other blog as I want to bring you a few more toys from the Guardian live discussion on 3rd June.

ok back to where I should be. Here are a couple of blogs and an online collaboration tool. One of which is completely strange to me ‘cos its all about Images, Sounds, etc.

The first blog, if I can call it that, is TED a place where you can listen to, “Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world”. There are all sorts of topics so you are sure to find something of interest to you. Just float over the images on the homepage and see what the latest additions are about or do a search. Links on the left take you to stuff on technology, entertainment, design, business, science or global issues.

There’s another blog called Philosophy Bites, managed by the Institute of Philosophy, School of Advanced Studies in London. At first this just looks like a publications list but there are a whole load of podcasts here on philosophy as well as links to philosophy books available through Amazon.co.uk, it takes a bit of scrolling but it’s well worth it.

I just love this next one. The site is called Visitorsstudio and you can, “Chat with other users while you upload and mix your sounds, images and movies in real-time” or you can use the Solostudio and try it out on your own first. For any of you budding musicians, artists or film makers out there it looks great. Create something and we’ll link to it from the blog 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Hooked on technology

  1. Pingback: Cute technology friends | Digital Literacy

Leave a Reply

