Nearly finished research focus

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Today we are going to start looking at Social Multimedia. I’ll start with some stuff that everyone is interested in and end up with some more esoteric stuff – though that might be tomorrow’s blog.

Let’s start with Photography. I really enjoy photography and would love to have time to learn more about it. I don’t share any of my stuff but I do use photo sharing sites to look at and for images. I’ve just joined Flickr and uploaded my first photo – dead simple. You can display your pictures publicly or you can select for just your family or friends to see them. Very useful if you are working with visual stuff. I think the 90 second film limit is a bit stingy – none of my machinima would fit into that length but then it is all free. Another useful program is Picasa, it’s part of the Google suite so if you have an account with them already it will use that one to enroll you. Just download Picasa and you can start organising your photos. Picasa can keep all your photos in one place, it lets you edit them, you can also use Picnik (an online editor) and you can then select photos to upload to the web. A really handy set of tools if you want something that’s free and don’t want to spend time learning how to use Photoshop or such like. SmugMug is great but it is really for more professional photographers. Although you can have a 14 day free trial you have to pay even for the smallest package, though that is only $5 per month (that’s about £3). However, it does look fantastic and does provide excellent services. You can buy and sell your photos and much more on the site and it is all backed up and provides a wide range of privacy settings.

Sorry, had to dash off to a meeting. I’ll carry on with this tomorrow:)

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

2 Responses to Nearly finished research focus

  1. Pingback: A little help « Digital Literacy @ University of Worcester

  2. Pingback: What is Picasa? | Easy Computing

Leave a Reply

