Return of the blogger

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Hi everyone I have returned from my hols completely refreshed – I expect this feeling of wellbeing will have worn off by the end of the week so I won’t be blasting you with happiness for long 🙂

Before I started my holiday I attended a really interesting conference at University College London (UCL) – The Fifth Bloomsbury Conference on e-Publishing and e-Publications. There was a great mix of people there, publishers, authors, academics, librarians, archivists, etc, and some fantastic speakers. I’m just going to pick out a few of the speakers as examples but I could have chosen any of them. The first person who comes to mind is Professor Dave De Roure from the Oxford e-Research Centre, University of Oxford. Dave was talking about the online sharing of tools, data and methodologies. Do have a look at the Digital Social Research blog, the Digital Humanities @ Oxford site and the myexperiment.org site. They are all sites about sharing data and workflows in the Humanities – shows you what can be done if we put our minds to it.

I’ve mentioned Mendeley before in a previous post but it is worth mentioning again. One of the speakers was Jason Hoyt who is Chief Scientist and Vice President of Research and Development at Mendeley. To describe the amount of documents they process Jason said that Mendeley processed the same number of documents in 24 months as Web of Knowledge did in 5 years. Mendeley now holds over 100 million documents and is the largest crowd-sourced database in the world. An excellent way to find, share and publish research papers.

That’s all for now I’ll write more about the conference tomorrow.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

