So many interesting things

One of me in SL

This is "me"

There are lots going on everywhere copyright, online learning, OER, etc; I don’t know where to start. I did say yesterday that I would write about the Bloomsbury Conference a little more, so I’ll do that first.

I did want to tell you about Tales of Things, something that Claire Ross spoke about. Have a look at the pictures and stories on the site – create your own picture and story and add it to the others. A marvellous way of preserving our memories about things that would never normally get into a museum or the history books.

You must also go and look at Zooniverse – Real Science Online. It’s another networking site you can join. There are loads of projects they are running, just pick one and join in. My favourite is Old Weather. The data for Old Weather comes from the logbooks from Royal Navy ships during the First World War. Lots of interesting stuff from natural sciences to social sciences – everyone should be able to find something that interests them.

Have to go to a meeting now so I’ll catch up with everything else tomorrow.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

