Some things for you to play with

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Been a bit busy today what with one thing and another but I have had a little search round for some interesting things for everyone. Most of the stuff today has come through my Twitter friends and acquaintances – thank you very much everyone, keep spreading the joy.

First up is something from a web site called “makeuseof”. We all have problems finding Copyright and Royalty free pictures for things we want to brighten up with some imagery – so here you are. Let me know if it’s helpful.

I’m not sure about this next site. It says that it was last up dated in July this year but so far I haven’t found anything more recent than 2009. The site provides open-resource Information Literacy activities. Some might be for rather young people but these are often very helpful ‘cos they assume you know absolutely nothing. It appears that you might have to pay for access to some parts but it’s not very clear. I’ve emailed the contacts to ask for more information. Do try it out though, I think it could be quite useful to new students.

This is a bit of fun. If you are not sure what the meaning of a word is try WordStash. It’s quite useful but you do have to know how to spell the word of course 🙂

I don’t think this site is for students but it looks very useful for everyone else. This site belongs to California State University (CSU) and provides information about Open Textbooks. That means that you get free, online access to these books. These are academic books and textbooks that have written by academics. It takes a bit of digging around to find what you want but I think this site is potentially really useful.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

