Only one thing is moving out there

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I was so glad when I saw another academic’s Tweet (@wonkhe) and Blog say that it’s really quiet out there in the blog and tweetiverse at the moment. At least it is on the academic side of things. I note with interest that #copyright is as fevered as ever. I currently refuse to write about any copyright stuff on the grounds that it might incite me to violence. I’m trying not to look at all the tweets about it – I know I’ll succumb eventually but I have to try to recover my equilibrium before hand.

On this blog I try to write about interesting little things and leave the deeper discussion for my other blog. Unfortunately that does mean that this blog is a bit short at times ๐Ÿ™‚ I have found a couple of things though that I think might interest you all (well those of you who haven’t heard about them before that is). The first is something I’ve been talking about for ages; using it as an example of just how much things are changing – NFC Mobile Payments. For those of you who have never heard of it before I’ll quickly explain. It’s a method of paying that does away with a chip and pin card – you just swipe your phone over the payment device. Yes I know that not much is happening yet and some companies think that it will take up to 10 years before it catches on – I still think it’s just round the corner. For one thing it’s already out there, and I for one would love to have this on my iPhone. Come on Apple get a move on ๐Ÿ™‚

The other thing I’ve found is Prezi – nice little program. Dead easy to use and it really moves your presentations beyond the usual boring PowerPoint. I know this will become boring too eventually but I think it could be used for other things. For example I can see how it could be used rather like a Flip Chart in class or even in online teaching – I bet someone has already done that. Have a go with it and let me know how you get on,

Just as a parting shot – I really can’t resist these cute little people. I must find a presentation I can use them in ๐Ÿ™‚

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

