A little trying

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I’ve been trying out a couple of programmes I’ve had my eye on for a while. One is Tumblr, yes I know it’s not new but time is not on my side! Anyway I like what it does though I find the interface far from intuitive – and no that is not because of my age! My very clever young colleague had trouble with it too when she started using it. If you put an editing button under the Information tab it does tend to confuse people. Tumblr could be quite useful for teaching. Once a site is set up, students could very quickly and easily add pictures, comments, urls, etc. It might engage them more than an ordinary blog – it certainly is easier to be creative and I really like the idea that you can upload anything from your mobile phone too.

The other thing I’ve been trying is Prezi. I did talk about it before on the blog but I’ve only just got round to trying it out myself. It is very, very easy to use but the concept takes a bit of getting used to. Zooming in and out of texts and pictures – it’s difficult to get used to writing in a very small font on something which is basically a display programme. You have to think in a very visual way which is not something that we are all used to doing. I guess that using this would really help students develop some media literacy skills – having said that I suppose that Tumblr does that too. Do have a go it’s free for a simple account and only about £30.00 for a full, education license.

Arrgh! that’s enough for now 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

