Week’s end endings

One of me in SL

This is "me"

A strange but enjoyable week to begin the new semester. The University has been all buzzy and fun with the return of the students and there seems to be an optimism in the air that denies the existence of Copyright arguments and Government/Higher Education battles. I love HE or should I say I love HE when it’s doing its best or striving to do its best. I like to think that Digital Literacy is adding its four-penny-worth to that striving.

An example of striving to do it’s best is Oxford University’s Podcasts site. There are some really interesting things on this site – I particularly like their Medieval English Lectures in their Humanities Division – a marvellously relaxing way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Go and find something you enjoy or even something that might help you with your studies. There are over 3,000 media items altogether and over 1,000 of them are under a Creative Commons license.

I’ve started writing a series of leaflets that will be in hardcopy as well as accessible through the ILS website. The first two will be published shortly, one is on Creative Commons – I’ll put the link on this blog when I start publishing. Do let me know if there is anything else you would like information on.

Don’t know how many of you are design students but I found this interesting little app you might be interested in. It’s called Spur and its by ZURB, I really like their website. Spur is a neat little tool that enables web designers to evaluate their design without all the other stuff (you know the stuff that makes a website work) getting in the way. Excellent, once you have all the functionality worked out your can also see if it looks good too 🙂

This next app is for everyone lecturers and students. I guess that by now an awful lot of you will have heard of Dropbox – well this little app is call Dropvox. Dropvox allows you to make an audio recording on you phone and once finished it immediately sends it to your Dropbox account – how cool is that? I can’t wait to try it out 🙂

See you all next week – byeeee, have a good weekend.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

