Helping out?

One of me in SL

This is "me"

A colleague came to my office this morning and exclaimed, “there are students everywhere”! There certainly are lots of them and I hope all you more experienced people are wearing your, “here to help” badges πŸ™‚

On one of my quick treks through the Web I came across a really interesting blog site, Networked Researcher. I think it has lots to offer – not just to researchers – but to all of us in HE so I’m going to put it in my blog roll. The post that caught my eye was this one on the effects of blogging, The Suprising Effects of Blogging for Impact.

I think I’ve mentioned the Copyright Licencing Agency before on this blog (I get so confused [that is supposed to elicit an ahhh from you]). I just thought I ought to mention that they have just put up their beta version of, “Does my CLA Licence cover this title?“. It does what it says it does – put in what type of licence you have (in our case Higher Education), what you want to use if for, the name of the publication, the ISBN and the country of publication – then just click the search button and it will tell you if you are able to use the work/creation or not. Now that’s what I call neat. I would think our Librarians will like it too. Just think of all those questions it will save πŸ™‚

ok my lovelies I hope these little tips help you out and that you’ll all help our new students. I’ll chat with you all again tomorrow.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

4 Responses to Helping out?

  1. newfootball.org Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time πŸ™‚

  2. sarahlouq says:

    Hi, so glad you liked what you found at Networked Researcher I am very proud of my little blog set up after my PhD.

    Please feel free to get in touch if there is something youd like to see on there – we also run training courses for PhD students / post docs.

    Dr Sarah-Louise Quinnell (Founder Networked Researcher)

    • timjohnson says:

      Hi Sara-Louise, sorry not to reply before – last week was just dreadful!

      Thanks for the comment and I’ll make sure our PhD students / post docs are told about your blog and the training courses.

      Tim

Leave a Reply

