Ideas are important

One of me in SL

This is "me"

My goodness, what a day! I leave home with no earings (arrgh I’m naked without them), someone has “borrowed” my milk from the ‘fridge and then I find Facebook has gone all peculiar. Ah well, never mind if I can’t come up with an idea to put it all right there is always the rest of the web to sooth my poor aching brain 🙂

In the Chronicle this week there is an interesting article on the control of the WWW by repressive regimens and organisations. What would we do maintain our independence? Well it looks like it could be Project Byzantium – have a read and tell me what you think. Is this just paranoia or is there a case to answer?

For many lecturers (and students) life in Higher Education carries on as it always has, with just a few nutcases trying to use modern technologies in the classroom. Well here is a new book that might change people’s minds, “The Digital Scholar”. Thanks to @AJCann and @gconole for the information about this book. At under £18.00 I think it could prove a useful addition to the library.

Well it looks as if Amazon is moving the goal posts again. They just recently provided lending rights from their website in America and now 11,000 US Libraries are going to receive the same benefits. Come on UK why are we lagging behind? I love the idea of loads of people sharing their ideas about the books they have read.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

