What are people up too!

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Had a really interesting meeting with a friend in the Charles Hastings Building on UW City Campus. She is working on the museum (not sure what the name will be yet) in the old infirmary building, it looks like it will be really interesting. We were talking about the use of QR codes as they will be used in the museum for people to follow-up on some of the exhibits. I found this post by Michael Bromby, Reader in Law at Glasgow University. Michael uses QR codes in his teaching but for me it all seems a bit ordinary. I’ve tried linking by QR directly to YouTube which was fun though and I think students would like to be able to access podcasts by QR. You might like to look at this “Getting Started Guide” from University of Bath that Michael talks about. It’s a bit old (2008) but is enough to get you started. I prefer ihop for creating code though as it is very, very simple to use. Take a look at this Prezi presentation which might give you some inspiration. Let me know what you use QR codes for and whether they are successful or not.

Don’t know if any of you have heard of the DUCKLING project from Leicester University. The project is all about how to provide materials and support for distance learning students. They have come up with some really good ideas though which could just as easily be applied to students in the university or for students on Earn as you Learn. Do have a look at the video on the JISC Design Studio page above, I’m sure you will find it very interesting.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been playing with a programme called Scoopit (http://www.scoop.it/). It is a really quick way of creating access to interesting web sites. A lecturer might use this for their students but it would also be a great way for students to support one another. Anything that has a url can be scooped and you can add your own text too. You can add comments and/or re-scoop a site from someone else. There are a number of other things you can do as a Scoopit community but I haven’t had time to explore those yet. Why don’t you have a look and let me know how you get on.

Have a good weekend and I’ll see you all next week 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

