Penmanship in a digital age

One of me in SL

This is "me"

A colleague ‘phoned me this morning to ask if I knew anything about pens that remembered what you write; she thought it would be a marvellous idea for students. Well if any of you want to look into its possibilities here are a few things to get you started.

Understandably these pens are all a bit on the expensive side. Some require special paper and/or special note books that also add to the cost but, hey, they do a lot for the money! So what is there on the market? There is a web page for Livescribe pens that has a video that shows you how they work. These pens not only record your writing they also record audio. Great for using in a meeting or tutorial, not too sure just how well they would work in a lecture hall. What could well be useful to some students is that they also translate, though I don’t think they would cope with more technical/discipline specific words. The pens cost between about £100 and £170 pounds but don’t forget all the other things you need too. The paper costs between £13 to £20 pounds for 4 note books and the headphones cost you about £30. It depends on where you think it is best for you to spend your money.

Then there is Logipen. This pen only needs ordinary paper and does not record audio. There is a receiver that you clip to the top of your note pad or loose leaf pages that records what you produce with the pen. View their video and compare the functions and costs with the Livescribe. The pen and receiver cost about $90 and, as far as I can tell, you can only buy it online directly from the company. With VAT the cost would work out about the same as the Livescribe but you do not have to use special paper.

I found one other on Amazon called E-pens Mobile Notes, it didn’t have a very good write-up but it only cost about £80. I’ll see if I can find some others, if I can I’ll pass on the info.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

2 Responses to Penmanship in a digital age

  1. timjohnson says:

    Thanks viki. I have to agree, I think mobility issues are very important these days.

  2. viki says:

    Although livescribe can record your words (which is awesome) logipen can also be used as a tablet device, which I find it very useful. Plus the fact that you can carry it everywhere easily.

Leave a Reply

