POETS day!

One of me in SL

This is "me"

When I was just a tiny student nurse our Sister Tutor called Friday’s POETS day – Push Of Early Tomorrow’s Saturday. I’m not trying to discourage you from being anything but diligent in your work but, for me, Fridays still hold that anticipation of something good just around the corner 🙂

Sorry about missing yesterday, very busy recording (and presenting) the new Semester’s Research Seminar (in Second Life) on the University of Worcester Island (http://slurl.com/secondlife/University%20of%20Worcester/145/188/25). The Island isn’t officially adopted by UW but it was created with a JISC grant and some gifted money as part of an elearning project a few years ago. We have a couple of lecturers using it and about three more who would like to use it but the Research Seminars are the only regular thing we do there at the moment. It’s good fun and you can learn a lot about researching, education and virtual worlds. We often get people from all over the world joining in not just lecturers and researchers from the UK so we get a lot of cross-fertilisation of ideas. I haven’t edited the video of the meeting yet but you can keep up with what’s in the diary on the Research Seminars page on my other blog.

Now then what have I found interesting recently – let me see.

Oh yes, 33 Interesting ways to use Mobile Phones (in the classroom). This is quite a long PowerPoint presentation but there are lots ideas that both lecturers and students might like to try out. I particularly like number 6 – I really like videos that show me how to do things – have a look 🙂

I found this off-shoot from Instagram, it’s their Webstagram Photo of the Day. There are some smashing photo’s on here – why not give Instagram and their photo album Keepsy a go and see if your photos end up on Photo of the Day? Some of you more technically minded people might like to try the Computable Document Format from Wolfram to add interactivity to your blogs.

Talking of blogs and by extension blog posts, there are three I’d like to draw your attention to. The first one is a blog I’ve mentioned before Networked Researcher. I thought some of you might be interested in the post, Social Media as a Research Environment. The same chap who wrote that post also writes his own blog, Not a PhD Thesis which I thought could be interesting to you researcher students out there. The final one is, The Thesis Whisperer. Some amusing though perspicacious insights into Thesis writing.

Enjoy the weekend my friends.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

