A trip to Leicester

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I took a trip to Leicester yesterday, started very early and arrived home late. I did mean to warn everyone sorry about that. It was worth the trip though; I went to a workshop on Copyright and Digitisation run by Naomi Korn.

Naomi has been running her Consultancy business for 10 years now and she certainly knows her stuff. I have used the web site of web2rights before and have found it very helpful. There’s quite a lot there so I suggest you dip in occasionally rather than try to take it all in at once. If you can spare a little more time the learning module on IPR and Licensing is well worth a visit. Some of you might like to try the Risk Management Calculator to find out just how risky it is to use that picture or document without being certain about its copyright status 🙂

Just one more little tip today. Understanding how things work can often help you to remember how to use them, at least that is what I find. If you are struggling to come to terms with computers and the Internet you might find this site on How Stuff Works is really useful to you.

That’s all for now, more tomorrow 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

