Copyright, copyright, copyright

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Urrgh – copyright. The leaflet is coming to an end but there is one big hurdle left to leap – Crown Copyright. It is just so annoying, it’s like trying to nail jelly to a tree! Never mind eh 🙂 I thought you might like to look at some of the web sites I’ve been using. They are very easy to use and not a bit overpowering.

The first, one of course, has to be the National Archives site. This site just has so much in it – I feel like a child in a sweetie shop! Go and look up where your family came from or look for look for the farm where grandad used to work.

I also rather like the Intellectual Property Office. I know it sounds dull but if you want to find out about Property Rights in detail these are the people who can help you. If it’s not on the web site contact them by phone or email.

If you want to learn about Copyright take the self-directed IPR and Licensing module on the web2rights site. It’s all very easy to follow and you can stop and re-start again whenever you want.

Just Tweeted by JISC – I thought you might like to see the JISC comments on the Government report, “Peer Review in Scientific Publications”. Researchers and research students could find this an interesting read.

I’ll try to find something a little more “fun”; speak with you again tomorrow 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Copyright, copyright, copyright

  1. Pingback: Reasearch and PhDs « Digital Literacy @ University of Worcester

Leave a Reply

