Analysing the web?

One of me in SL

This is "me"

What have I found for you today – let’s see. Oh yes I’ve just added Networked Researcher to the Blog Roll. I really like this blog it’s interesting, useful and witty – just the ticket.

I’ve been talking with a friend today about things like web analytics. I think that some of these sites I’ve visited will appeal to IT and Business students. This site .eduGuru, a site for the Higher Education community, makes it fun to learn about stuff like Google Analytics Filters. I also looked at this site, eduStyle that promotes the redesign of university and college web sites. Yesterday I mentioned Protovis for picturing the web of Twitter conversation. This helps you to visualise the way in which people are connected and the people who have most influence in a particular community at a particular time. Rather helpful if you are an inexperienced researcher and you need to know who the important people are in your field. Another influence measuring tool is Klout. If you are trying to measure just how much influence you are having in a particular community – quite useful if you are trying to get your research or museum/collection noticed.

Finally, I’d just like to leave you with some social media tools to play with over the weekend. Here are 10 Social Media Tools for you – some might even prove useful 🙂 See you next week – have a good weekend.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

