Broadcasting ourselves

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I’ve been cogitating recently on how we communicate – not just the social network thing but on how visual our communications are. We here a lot about how younger people are more visual in their communications (personally I don’t think it is just younger people) and to a certain extent this is true but what are people using for this visual communication. I don’t think that just putting your pictures on Facebook or in an online album is communication as such – it might be display but is it communication? So I started looking for examples of visual communication.

I found a few sites about live casting, I really like this video by Justin.tv which shows just how easy it is to get your live video online. If you are wanting to make something look a little more professional this one from Freedocast looks as if it could be useful and this one from nch Software looks good too. Of course, I haven’t tried any of these thing yet myself ๐Ÿ™‚ but I’m sure there are loads of you who are just itching to have a go with them ๐Ÿ™‚ The idea is good but actually putting yourself out there is a bit of a big step – let me know if you get up the courage ๐Ÿ™‚

A friend of mine sent round an email about a post at Birmingham University and it made me realise that some young/new researchers might be interested in this site – jobs.ac.uk not only advertises jobs but offers lots of tips too on getting work in academia.

I thought you might like to join in a discussion about how well we use social media to engage with each other. To start us off here is something from CNN.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Broadcasting ourselves

  1. Pingback: Broadcasting ourselves | digital literacy | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

