Making friends and influencing people

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I had a marvellous time on Tuesday afternoon when I met up with Michelle Rogers from Early Childhood Studies. Michelle is one of those people who has loads of enthusiasm and very quietly makes interesting things happen. We nattered for ages about the things she has been doing with the students she works with and the very interesting technology she has to play with. Hopefully I’ll be able to bring you some examples of what Michelle is doing in the not too distant future. If you can’t wait for that you’ll have to contact her yourself 🙂

This post from The Thesis Whisperer should encourage all of you to go mobile. Dr Inger Mewburn is the writer of this blog as well as the author of numerous publications about research education. There are 20 replies to this blog at the moment so there should be lots of ideas for you to pick up about mobile learning and working – why not add your own reply whilst you’re there.

I have some more toys for you to play with this weekend. The first is Diagramly, it’s fun, it’s easy to use, it’s online and it’s free. I get really fed-up with Word at times, especially their awfully inflexible diagram tools. I’ve used a few different diagram programs, I think I’ll try giving this one a try too. Another useful tool is Citebite where you can link to a specific quote on a web page. Very useful if, like me, you read a lot of pages and can never remember just where it was you found that one interesting little nugget. A similar program is Awesome Highlighter – try them both and let me know which one you think is best.

Finally we are trying out a Scoop.it site for Lecturers called Calling all Lecturers. I try to put a little something on the site each morning – you can comment on it, send it to Twitter of Facebook or even start your own Scoop.it site and re-scoop the things you like. Let me know if you like it and what other topics you might like included on it.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

