The return of the wanderer

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Phew! That was a busy week just gone. Sorry not to blog from the Innovative Research in Virtual Worlds conference in Coventry – I was just too involved in all the great presentations. All the presentations were recorded so I’ll post a link here once they are published. Suffice to say that I’m back with lots of ideas and some useful connections with people from other HEIs.

For any of you thinking of doing a PhD do have a look at the post from the Thesis Whisperer’s blog and all the comments to it. People often ask, “should I do a PhD”, the Thesis Whisperer has some answers for you.

Here is something for everyone working in health. Is a “nice lady” like the one from Northeastern University going to be common-place in a few years? They seem to be getting some good results from using this simulation of a nurse – let me know what you think.

Whilst I don’t usually show much interest in what Microsoft does, this is just smashing 🙂 You must go and have a look at this video of the Holodesk. Real things, such as hands and books, interacting with virtual things – I just love this – there is so much we could use it for!

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

