Friday post

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I have noted that my posts on Friday’s are a little strange (what you say, stranger than at other times!). I don’t know if the strangeness comes from being tired or from all the stuff buzzing around in my head from everything I’ve read during the week. I feel as if I’ve read rather a lot this week so be warned 🙂

I like the idea of an organised life – mine isn’t but I can appreciate, probably for that reason, why someone would want to create some order in their life. I pick up on a lot of PhD things and one of them is Eva’s blog (PhD Talk), this lady is an engineer, wow! On Monday Eva was talking about time management software – I never really felt I could trust this stuff, it always feels like time and motion study – it does its thing and then tells you that you have to stop doing what is fun. However, Eva’s blog has convinced me to try it (at sometime when I have the time), it seems to have worked for her.

Having presented at the conference in Coventry last week, and having written some feedback for Virtual World Watch, things related to Virtual Worlds are bouncing around in my head like a thingy in a jam jar. I put a few things that caught my eye on the Scoop.it site, “Calling All Lecturers“. I also attended a JISC Webinar on Curriculum Design and that has mixed in with my thoughts too. I’m still struggling to get the words to my thoughts out in some sort of order. There are many social media that we can use to change how we teach, not just for the sake of change but because the world is changing and we need to accommodate those changes. We need to accommodate those changes because our current students need to learn how to use these technologies which will increasingly become part of their working lives. We also need to accommodate these changes because HE is changing (whether we like it or not), not just the things like fees but how and why it exists. The students are changing; the types of students, the way they study, the way their lives dictate the time they have to study. Social medial are just part of that change, the move from University as we know it provides technology from commercial software companies. Virtual worlds are just part of that social software, they are not games, just another social media that provides really good opportunities for creating learning environments that are different from what we are used to. They don’t replace anything they just are another tool that makes it easier to create really interesting, flexible, agile curricula.

There you are, what did I say at the beginning – just a strange stuff 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

