Obsessions, arguments and rants

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Seeing that it is Monday I will try to have my brain in slightly better order than it was on Friday 🙂

I know I seem to have been writing a lot about Virtual Worlds just lately but there is so much going on about education in them at the moment. One of the things I have just tripped over in my wonderings round the web is the University of West of England (UWE) MA Education in Virtual Worlds. The course will be starting in September, you can go to their web page and register your interest in the course – fantastic!

I have one more thing about Virtual Worlds then I’ll try to shut up. There has been a call for Chapters for a new IGI book called, Technologies in Urban and Spatial Planning: Virtual Cities and Territories. Ummm, really snappy title eh? Don’t know if any of you do work on urban planning but if you are this could be an opportunity for you.

Now for something a little different. The language in this cartoon is a little ripe but the idea is really good, though I’m not to sure about learning to eat just to assuage your anger.

It is so satisfying when someone else rants about the things you rant about 🙂 I’ve just been reading A. J. Cann’s rant (and the following comments) about academic publishers. I must say that I agree with him entirely. Academic publishers appear slow, disorganised and just plain old-fashioned (in a bad way) when compared to the modern methods of communication and publishing. I do wish they would move out of the dark ages and give academia what it needs!

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Obsessions, arguments and rants

  1. Pingback: Obsessions, arguments and rants | Metaverse NewsWatch | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

