What’s the name of the game?

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I found this article through ReadWriteWeb’s tweet on ReadWrite Enterprise. I think I might have been attracted to read it from the quote from the film Cool Hand Luke, “what we’ve got here is a failure to communicate” (one of my favouritest films ever). I must post a comment to it. There is nothing to indicate that we will communicate better, more efficiently or more effectively just because we use digital or electronic communication tools. As you will note from this blog sometimes I’m a good communicator and sometimes I’m awful. The basic rules apply regardless of the communication tool. Let me see if I can remember a few of the rules: good communication is more than a two-way street so never forget to listen (ask for comments) as well as talk; good communication uses lots of channels so if some of the channels are missing you have to make up for it in other ways (which is why we use emoticons) 🙂 ; even good communication experiences “noise” (that means interruptions that prevent your exact message from getting where it should go) so don’t just say something once, in one way or in one medium; a big rule is know your audience; another rule is, even good communication doesn’t work if there is no one listening (is something completely stopping your message from getting through), make sure you have prepared your audience to receive your message. I expect that if I tried I could remember a few more or the rules but I’ve decided to wait and see if any of you can come up with some rules of communication – do you feel the need to communicate?

Just one more thing today. I’m just taking a look at PeerWise, a useful tool for Uni students, do any of your lecturers feel like trying it out? And what do you students feel about something like this – do you think it would be useful?

Catch up with you again tomorrow 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

