Time and tide get your feet wet

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I’ve been looking at some stuff about the changing learning and social world, age, technology and our engagement with technology. Well, that’s my job I suppose but it’s also what fascinates me. There has been a lot of debate about Digital Natives and as far as I’m concerned the idea has been proved to be a myth. This article from The Economist comes from last year, it talks about Digital Natives, etc but there are a few other points it raises that make it interesting beyond that boring topic. About halfway through the article it suddenly asks, “What about politics …”? What the author goes on to argue is that the new media people engage with is not making them more politically aware, in fact the author thinks it is all just a superficial sham. Read the article and let me know what you think.

After I read that article I fell over The Mindset List from Beloit College in America. I think this is very useful, it reminds us that not just every generation but every age views things differently because of what they have grown up with. So each intake of school leavers to University sees the world differently from the previous year’s intake. I think their YouTube video explains it really well – ok it’s American but I’m sure you can see what they are getting at.

Another YouTube video I found was this one by Lou McGill. I suppose this is really aimed at lecturers but I can think of at least on PhD student who will be interested in viewing it. Having discussed this sort of thing with him over coffee on Monday I guess it could have been what sparked off my ideas for this particular blog post. Lou is not unfamiliar to me but I don’t think it’s wrong of me to say that this video is smashing, it really makes you think about how we teach and how we behave with students. Lou talks about a course she has done online, what she experienced,how it made her feel and how it added to her conceptualisation of Digital Literacy. Excellent stuff.

I couldn’t resist bringing you this – just look at this cute little computer, a real Thumbelina 🙂 I want one!

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

