Digital Literacy?

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Just sorting through a load of stuff before I send it off to the printers – I’m sure I’m missing a document but I can’t think what it is :$ I’ll stop thinking about it then I’m bound to remember 🙂

Out and about in the warm pool of the “network” I found this idea from Canada called Knowledge Mobilisation – a much nicer and more pedagogically correct term than Knowledge Transfer. I guess they are both intending to achieve the same ends but Knowledge Mobilisation makes sense to me. It’s what I’m doing right now and it’s a lot about Digital Literacy – it’s about making it easier for everyone to know what it is they need to know in order to survive. And I just love the picture of the pussy cat:)

From the Twitterverse I’ve just been looking at the National Union of Students’ charter on Technology in Education brought to my attention by #jiscl11. Smashing it says nearly everything that the push for improving Digital Literacy says! Excellent! Also could not resist bringing to your attention Dave White’s blog post on the JISC Developing Digital Literacies Program

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Digital Literacy?

  1. Thanks for the shout out about our work. You can read our blog at http://www.researchimpact.wordpress.com to learn more about the work we do in knowledge mobilization and social innovation. Always happy to continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

