Out and about with Digital Literacy

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Darn it this is still going out at the end of the day! I thought I would have caught up with myself by now πŸ™‚

I’ve found loads of interesting stuff – well it’s interesting to me – I just have to decide which pieces might also be interesting to you. Ummmmmm, I just found a Artrage which looks like fun. If you’ve always wanted to draw and paint but have been a bit anxious about all the mess and the equipment you have to fork out for, have a look at Artrage – I might give this a go after Christmas. If you create anything (artistic that is) over the holidays whether it is in Artrage or digital photos I’ll post the best ones on the blog.

As this is a Digital Literacy blog I suppose I really ought to put some links about the subject as well as the fun things. So what I’ve been looking at today: This Digital Literacy site is American so isn’t completely relevant for us but their Recent Best Practices page is interesting as it covers good practice information from all over the world. If you want to learn a little more about how to use computers try the Microsoft Curriculum. As you’d expect it teaches you how to use Microsoft products but then a lot of people do. I think it’s a bit silly putting something online that tells you how to use a keyboard and mouse but the rest of it is not too bad πŸ™‚ Moving to something with a little more weight, this is CEPIS UPgrade the European Journal for the Informatics Professional. This issue is all about the Greening of Informatics – I might have time to read some of this over the weekend. Last but by no means least have a listen to what the Secretary General of the United Nations has to say about Digital Literacy – don’t say I never bring you anything interesting lol, rofl πŸ™‚

Mind you this might interest some of you. JISC infoNet’s #jiscdiglit updates from projects – there are loads of blogs to follow-up on here. These are blogs from loads of other Universities about what they are doing in relation to Digital Literacy. Some really interesting stuff here for students, lecturers and managers – have a read (that’s an instruction you understand).

Have to mention this before I go. What our desktops will be looking like in a few years time – information via Mashable. Who’s going to own up to wanting one? πŸ™‚ Have a good weekend everyone!

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

