Shhh – it’s very quiet

One of me in SL

This is "me"

It is getting near, and nearer to the Christmas holidays and, as a result, the metaverse is getting quieter and quieter.

A post from the Networked Researcher on crowd source funding. I wonder if we will see more of this type of funding as every one and every organisation becomes more strapped for cash. It will be interesting to see if this is how the public eventually, truly influence what is researched.

I rather thought these next two items fitted together. First there is Pat Parslow in Working towards machine consciousness, writing about how learning theories fit together. It’s a bit Digital Literacy and a bit Education Theory, one of my favourite combinations. Then there is Roger Kay on Cognitive Computing. A really interesting forward look with someone who knows what he’s talking about.

Finally, I just could not resist this cute little chap. Do have a look at this video – NAO is bored and he is trying to get the attention of the man using the computer. I’d love to have one but unfortunately they are not toys. I’ve only put in one video but there seem to be lots out on YouTube. There is one video of a whole load of NAO dancing – I just love they way they wiggle their hips 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

