Spoilt for choice

One of me in SL

This is "me"

It has been really amazing today – I have so much I want to talk about with you that I might have to make decisions about which topics to use!

I must share this with you. I just love it when Digital Literacy gets noticed by one of the big news papers. Here is an article by Sarah Knight from JISC talking about the importance of Digital Literacy in the Higher Education Network section of the Guardian. It is so important that universities and colleges realise that Digital Literacy is not just about ICT skills, researching skills or getting the market image right. Digital Literacy is about a whole cultural change and it is our responsibility to ensure that students leave their courses with the necessary mind set that will enable them to survive in a digitally dominated world.

This one next I think – I do love looking forward, especially at Christmas, so here is a glimpse of what our lives might be like in just a few years time. Just remember that quite a few of the things shown in this video are nearing a beta stage of production already, so the ideas presented here aren’t just stuff and nonsense ๐Ÿ™‚

This looks like a bit of fun for Christmas. If you are interested in gaming here is a site that gives advice on different gaming engines, tools and resources. Let me know if you create anything over Christmas, we can have a competition to see who produces the best game ๐Ÿ™‚

For something a little more serious but very interesting we have mapping the brain from Massachusetts General Hospital. These marvellous inventions and advances in technology for medicine are mind blowing. I don’t think the majority of the public know just how little is really known about how the body works. What the medical technologists are doing now will change the face of medicine in the same way that antibiotics did just after the second world war.

I’ve been trying to decide why I might need Jing, so I’m trying it out. I have Snagit which is excellent and only costs a little. I also have Camtasia which is also excellent but costs a lot. Jing, at the basic level is free so I think a lot of you might like to make use of its features such as grabbing a screen or image on your computer and sending it to a friend or putting it on your blog (with carful attention to Copyright of course). You can also share any Screen casts you make too through the free access to the Screencast.com – fantastic for hard-up students (or even hard-up lecturers). Coming from Techsmith these tools are very easy to use and there is lots of support with instructional videos, etc.

I think that’s all for now – do you think we are going to have proper snow tomorrow? I’d get my boots on if I were you ๐Ÿ™‚

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Spoilt for choice

  1. Pingback: Spoilt for choice | Calling All Lecturers | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

