Blogs and Blogging

One of me in SL

This is "me"

As you can see from the end of my last post I’ve been looking at how different people and universities are using blogs. I really did like the way Imperial had a group of their students blogging. It would be great if we could get our students blogging like this too – any of you game?

There’s also the way that the University of the Arts in London have created blogs for different parts of their University. The Campus is very widespread, all over London, having these blogs helps to bring them together and let them know about stuff going on everywhere. I don’t think our locations around Worcester are quite so wide spread but you can see how they could get out of touch with one another without the blogs.

The University of Nottingham also has a similar thing where they have a page that brings together all their blogs. There they even get their Vice Chancellor blogging 🙂 They seem to blog about anything and anything from, “A world in crisis” to a “Geog Blog”.

This last one I really like. Can’t remember which of my contacts tipped me off to this one but it’s a smashing idea. It’s called Project 365 and people commit to blogging about one thing for a whole year. Go along and have a look at some of the things people have blogged about. If any of you decide to have a go yourselves let me know and we’ll follow your blog from here. Good luck!

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Blogs and Blogging

  1. timjohnson says:

    Just heard from Salma Patel at Warwick Uni via Twitter that she blogs for her Uni http://blogs.warwick.ac.uk/researchexchange/ Have a look 🙂

Leave a Reply

