Gadgets

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I do love gadgets – let’s face it they are just toys that actually do something; they’re just the next step on from Meccano 🙂 I try not to fill this blog with too many gadgets as I know a lot of people are not addicted to them like I am. However, there comes a time when I just have to give in to my inner child – so here is what I’ve been looking at.

The Guardian Newspaper produced a list of the top 50 apps for the iPad. Yes I know that not everyone has an iPad but lots of you do and I just want to show the others how useful and how much fun they can be. I wasn’t particularly interested in the first section it’s stuff for the home, recipes and interior design, things like that but I can see that the interaction they provide could be helpful. The other sections (except for the Kids) have lots to interest people. Things like eBay for iPad, Skype, Flipboard to create your own magazine, eBook Creator, Painterly, Garageband and loads more. I’m definitely going to be trying some of these out.

This next one won’t be in everyone’s homes just yet but I can’t wait for it to arrive. It’s not known by a very catchy name yet but it is gesture and voice controlled TV. Hurrah! No more losing the TV controller just when I need it in a hurry 🙂 I picked up this little news item from the journal of the International Society for Presence Research. If you’re into virtual reality these people are the ones to follow. Originally the article came from the Los Angeles Times where the reporter goes on to talk about the research that is continuing into the technology that supports Microsoft’s Kinect. This technology is still comparatively young and it is believed that there are lots more to come from it.

The last item is another one from Microsoft – as you know I’m not a great fan of Microsoft but their research department is very good. There is an article from Tech Crunch about Surface SUR40, a piece of technology that was introduced to us, I think, early last year – it was interesting but not that exciting and rather clunky. The researchers at Microsoft have worked on it since then and produced a table four inches thick. That sounds a bit big but the argument is that it has to be robust to survive in the real world. At nearly 9,000 US dollars this really isn’t aimed at the household market but have a look at this video (it’s a bit slow at the beginning) demonstration and you can see how it might be used in shops and in business.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

