A nice mixture

One of me in SL

This is "me"

I have a whole variety of things for you today. I was a bit busy last Thursday, off in Bristol at a JISC Workshop on Managing a Digital Media Collection. I know that might sound pretty boring to some of you but it was quite good fun. If you are really keen on something, want to share it with others and want others to share with you, you might find Omeka.net interesting. For £30 per year you can store 1GB of your work on Omeka’s server in America. This gives you an opportunity to produce a product like this one called, “Hurricane Digital Memory Bank” which runs on Omeka on its own server or this one which runs on Omeka.net, “Eastern Oklahoma Tuberculosis Sanitorium”. As you can see on both these sites they provide an option for people to contribute their own pictures and stories to the sites. If you do have a go let me know and I’ll put a link to it on the blog 🙂

Here is something for all you iPad owners to try. I guess a lot of you have tried using iMovie to edit your family videos, well here is an app that looks as if it provides more for your $4.99. I found this on the “iPadinCanada” site which has a very helpful video on how to use the app which comes from Avid who produce editing programmes.

I just love this article from the European Space Agency. Unfortunately you can’t get any of this kit on the high street yet but you can see where all this might lead. I can see a time coming when you will all want your own augmented reality medical kit 🙂

I would love to know how many of your lecturers are using the “clickers” like this lecturer does. Lorraine Weaver has a post on the UoW Interesting Practice site on her use of these gadgets in the Biological Sciences department. Would you like your lecturers to make more use of these “Personal Response Systems”? The biology students seem to have found them very helpful.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

