A conflict of interests?

One of me in SL

This is “me”

I know this sounds strange but I am fascinated by copyright. The history of it, the way it has twisted and turned over the last approximately three hundred years. ok, so it annoys me intensely at times, as I’m sure it does many other people. It is interesting that as things become popular they are scooped into the Copyright Laws and I like to watch the power the big businesses wield in the constant tug of war over what should be included. Don’t get me wrong, I think we do need something like Copyright Law and I think we should observe the law. I just find it rather amusing – in 50 years time the issues over things like Pirate Bay will all be old hat. The things like Pirate Bay will all have been legitamised and pulled into the Copyright Law and something else will be being wrangled over. The twists and turns of the Copyright Laws though do prove a problem for us when we want to use or to produce something ourselves.

This is the (for want of a better term) “digital age” and things are changing, fast, very fast. We all have to learn quickly to use the newest and most up to date, to ensure we are not contravening a law or making an awful social gaffe 🙂 We can keep up to date by following people like Lyn Parker and her Copyright compliance Scoop.it and the #copyright on Twitter and, of course, the Web2Rights resources site. Make sure you use the tools and information sources available to you through modern technologies – it is all there to help you and it’s free 🙂

I’d be really interested to hear your views on all these copyright issues – honest I really would 🙂

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

