Some good reads with a cup of cocoa :)

One of me in SL

This is “me”

What ghastly weather! Now is the time when you should be tucked up with a good book, a mug of cocoa and a roaring fire. Not quite what I have at this very moment but I do have lots of goodies for you to read on your iPad or hot PC 🙂

The first App I have for you is sweet – Piktochart provides you with everything you need to make your own infographics and it’s really, really simple, hurrah! I like simple and I like it even better when it is either free or has a good financial offer for those in education and Piktochart has both – good yeh?

The next thingy I have is for those of you who are a little more experienced with computers and have a web site of your own. Google Chart Tools is in the Google Developers area of their site. Take a look then, copy the code, paste it into your web site and, if you want, run the data from your database. Presto you have your own data chart on your own web site and it changes as your data changes!

Now I usually try to find three or four things to put on the blog for you so what else is there that might tickle your fancy on this nasty, cold, wet night.

Oh yes, Introduction to Blogging. I rather like this as I think it will save me time when people say, why on earth should I blog. This little infographic very neatly explains just why blogging is useful and how it develops into something special. It does all that without making any real effort – nice 🙂

Now for something a little more serious. If you or a friend have any problems with reading or writing using modern technologies have a look at this web page. This web site has a really long title but it is all about supporting Universal Access. All the Apps mentioned are for iPad or iPhone and most of them are free or are very, very cheap. I’ve looked at them and some I think can be useful, others not so much. There is also a link to a page with the same type of Apps but for PCs and Macs, just in case you do not have a mobile device.

As a final and very serious note, if you are interested in the wider issue of Universal Access, you might like to look at this site too.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

Leave a Reply

