Some funny things

One of me in SL

This is "me"

Whoops! Sorry this is so late I started it hours ago.

I found this really funny app yesterday called “Poll Everywhere” and have just now had a chance to try it out. It is a sort of audience response equipment but extremely easy to use – much easier than audience response equipment. You can do it anywhere – I just wrote a quick poll on my computer then asked my two good colleagues Janet and Jenni to respond and … boom, boom just like that I had replies to my poll. Just think how we could use this with students or even how students could use it with us 🙂 You could use it in a seminar room or lecture hall, online, put a survey in Blackboard etc, etc. You can download it to PowerPoint or to Prezi, publish to Twitter, Facebook, a blog or a website. All of this was free but if you create an account you can do even more – there are many different ways to pay so you’ll have to have a look to see what would suit you best but it can be done quite cheaply. Such a fun thing but such possibilities!

Another thing I found, is called the Rapid eLearning Blog, probably not really elearning more like etraining but some interesting tips on using PowerPoint. I particularly liked this one that demonstrates how to draw with PowerPoint. It goes through the steps of how to draw an envelope icon – not that I’d ever need an icon like this but the principles are interesting.

About timjohnson
I came through a tortuous path to the role of Adviser in Digital Literacy in the Information and Learning Services Department. In the past I was a: Senior Lecturer in Health Informatics, Senior Lectuer in Midwifery, Midwifery Sister, Staff Midwife, Nurse, Secretary, Bars Manager. I would have liked to be a jeweller and silver smith but of course there is always retirement for that :)

One Response to Some funny things

  1. Pingback: Some funny things « Digital Literacy @ University of Worcester | Workplace Digital Literacy | Scoop.it

Leave a comment